WHATCOM COUNTY FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT #21

Resolution 2020-13

A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF WHATCOM COUNTY FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT #21 AUTHORIZING A REGIONAL FIRE PROTECTION SERVICE PLANNING COMMITTEE:

WHEREAS, RCW 52.26.020 provides that two or more fire protection jurisdictions within reasonable proximity may create a regional fire protection service authority (RFA) and convene a RFA planning committee (the "Planning Committee"); and

WHEREAS, Whatcom County Fire District 21 (District 21) and Whatcom County Fire District 4 (District 4) are adjacent fire protection jurisdictions;

WHEREAS, District 21 believes it is in the best interests of its citizens to explore the creation of an RFA pursuant to RCW 52.26 with District 4;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Commission of Whatcom County Fire District No. 21 as follows:

- 1. District 21 hereby agrees to participate in the Planning Committee for the formation of an RFA with District 4.
- 2. District 21 hereby appoints the following three commissioners to the Planning Committee pursuant to RCW 52.26.030(2):
- 3. Members of the Planning Committee shall receive compensation of seventy dollars per day, or portion thereof, not to exceed seven hundred dollars per year, for attendance at Planning Committee meetings and for performance of other services on behalf of the RFA. Members of the Planning Committee shall be entitled to reimbursement for travel and incidental expenses according to District policy.

PASSED AND APPROVED THIS 23RD DAY OF JULY OF 2020 BY THE BOARD OF FIRE COMMISSIONERS OF WHATCOM COUNTY FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT #21

A .	П	٦r	Г	\mathbf{r}	C	П	٦	_
А			ı	r	. 7			ĭ

Bruce Ansell, Chairman	Rich Bosman, Vice-Chairman
John Crawford, Commissioner	Scott Fischer, Commissioner
Jennie Sand, Board Secretary	Jason Van der Veen, Fire Chief